Trine presents Annual Community Christmas Concert on Dec. 2

Trine University’s music ensembles will host their Annual Community Christmas Concert beginning at 3:30 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 2, in Ryan Concert Hall of the T. Furth Center for Performing Arts.

Community members are encouraged to attend the concert, which is free and open to the public.

Trine’s University Choir, directed by Geoffrey North, D.M., director of vocal music, will start the event. Selections will include:

  • “Holiday Favorites,” a medley by Roger Emerson featuring “Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow,” “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer” and “Frosty the Snowman,” among others,
  • “ ’Twas the Night Before Christmas,” by Ken Darby,
  • “Lo, How a Rose” with “The Rose” by Craig Hella Johnson,
  • “Sleigh Ride” by Leroy Anderson, and
  • “The One Horse Open Sleigh” by John Pierpont.

The Trine Chamber Orchestra, directed by Prof. Mark Kays, chair of the Department of Music, will continue the program. The orchestra will play:

  • “Sleigh Ride” by Leroy Anderson,
  • “The Nutcracker Suite” by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, including “March,” “Trepak,” “Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy” and “Waltz of the Flowers,”
  • “A Vaughan Williams Christmas” by Vaughan Williams, including “O’ Sing a Song of Bethlehem,” “Gloucestershire Wassail” and “Sussex Carol,” and
  • “Wizards in Winter” by Paul O’Neill and Robert Kinkel.

To close the program, the orchestra will play a Christmas sing along, a medley including “Joy to the World,” “O Come All Ye Faithful,” “Hark! The Herald Angels Sing,” and “Silent Night.” Arranged by Bob Cerulli, this community carol encourages the audience to join in the presentation by singing along.

To continue the evening of holiday spirit, all are invited to walk through the Rick L. and Vicki L. James University Center to see 40 trees decorated for the holiday season by Trine University clubs, organizations and offices. The trees will be donated to Steuben County families. There is no charge to view the trees.

Trine University’s Bon Appetit will offer a special holiday dinner at Whitney Commons, also in the University Center. Menu options will include roast turkey, pork loin or beef, Amish sausage, mashed potatoes and gravy, green bean casserole and a rice medley, along with other vegetable, pizza, pasta and grill options. Chocolate fudge, peppermint bark, red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting and Christmas cookies will be available for dessert. Cost is $12.71 for adults and $6.43 for ages 5-12, plus tax.

Choir members include: Morgan Barrasas, a junior from Hobart, Indiana; Jonah Blanchard, a freshman from Wauseon, Ohio; Jacob Cady, a freshman from Perrysburg, Ohio; Megan Carter, a sophomore from Mooresville, Indiana; Andrea Eades, a freshman from Lowell, Indiana; Cort Eicher, a freshman from Edon, Ohio; Anna Favalon, a junior from Wooster, Ohio; Alex Guzman, a freshman from South Bend, Indiana; David House, a freshman from Indianapolis, Indiana; Brett Husar, a junior from St. Charles, Illinois; Brooke Jabo, a junior from Valparaiso, Indiana; Joshua Jennings, a senior from Johnstown, Ohio; Ryan Kosek, a senior from South Bend, Indiana; Kennedy Kroeckel, a sophomore from Defiance, Ohio; Matthew Lamson, a sophomore from Corunna, Indiana; Mariah Lawrence, a sophomore from Dunkirk, Indiana; Kaitlyn Lee, a freshman from San Diego, California; Madison Limerick, a freshman from South Bend, Indiana; Ty Logan, a sophomore from New Castle, Indiana; Chloe Lounds, a senior from Waterloo, Indiana; Brynn Molter, a sophomore from Pleasant Lake, Indiana; Jayda Perisho-Vickery, a sophomore from Huntington, Indiana; Kendra Perkins, a junior from Kokomo, Indiana; Chloe Rahn, a junior from Danville, Indiana; Logan Rose, a freshman from Port Huron, Michigan; Frankie Sarvis, a freshman from Laporte, Indiana; Ramsay Snyder, a sophomore from Indianapolis, Indiana; Mallory Timbrook, a freshman from Sherwood, Ohio; Daniel Tsuleff, a freshman from Fort Wayne, Indiana; Kaytelyn Vanet, a freshman from Mooresville, Indiana; Jenna Wilson, a sophomore from Richmond, Indiana; and Peyton Wilson, a sophomore from LaFontaine, Indiana.

The Chamber Orchestra includes community members along with Trine students. Performers will include:

Flute: Kenny McClung, Aimee Simons, Katie Smith and Dee Wolf.

Clarinet: Jayden Hensley, a freshman from Wabash, Indiana; Isaac Wyatt and Melissa Hardwick.

Oboe: Christian Gaston, a senior from Wabash, Indiana; Matthew Westjohn, a senior from Fountain City, Indiana; and Katherine Wettstein, a senior from Wheeler, Indiana.

French Horn: Nicholas Biegel, a freshman from Hanna, Indiana; Stephen Kays; and Alexis Koshenina, a freshman from Remington, Indiana.

Trumpet: Allie Curdes, a sophomore from Roanoke, Indiana; Kayli Savage; and Michael Swango, a freshman from Wabash, Indiana.

Trombone: Sam Corber, Wayne Mow, Jackson Sharp and Keagan Webber.

Percussion: Alex Jasper, a junior from Niles, Michigan; and Isaac Porte, a sophomore from DeMotte, Indiana.

Violin: Kayleah Anderson, a freshman from Hillsdale, Michigan; Seth Cole, a senior from Davison, Michigan; Anita Derkes; Kirsten Godfrey, a senior from Fort Wayne, Indiana; Lili Keen; Brenda Maurer; Shaelynn Pettibone, a junior from Fort Wayne, Indiana; Nadina Prince; Jonathan Rupp; Susan Smith; and Jaimie Williams, a freshman from West Bloomfield, Michigan.

Viola: Tom Adamson; Ahdrin Bordner, a freshman from Delaware, Ohio; Timothy Mayer, a sophomore from Endicott, New York; and Brandon Villanueva, a senior from St. Charles, Illinois.

Cello: Evan Buck, a sophomore from Indianapolis, Indiana; Rebecca Rupp; Richard Rupp; and Monica Wells.

For more information, contact Kays at (260) 665-8096.