Halloween, Harry Potter featured in Trine concert

In keeping with the Halloween season, the Trine University Choir and Chamber Orchestra will present music for fans of spooky compositions from the stage and silver screen at their fall concert Sunday, Oct. 28.

The concert begins at 3 p.m. in Ryan Concert Hall inside the T. Furth Center for Performing Arts, and is free and open to the public.

The choir’s portion of the presentation, themed “Halloween on Broadway (and at the Movies),” will include music from Sweeney Todd, Wicked, Phantom of the Opera, Rocky Horror Picture Show and The Nightmare Before Christmas. The choir is conducted by Geoffrey North, D. Mus.

Gumi Kim, a professional singer from South Korea who is studying at Trine this semester, will perform operatic solos as part of the concert. Other soloists include Kennedy Kroeckel, a sophomore from Defiance, Ohio; Anna Favalon, a junior from Wooster, Ohio; and Madison Limerick, a freshman from South Bend, Indiana.

Other choir members include: Morgan Barrasas, a junior from Hobart, Indiana; Jonah Blanchard, a freshman from Wauseon, Ohio; Jacob Cady, a freshman from Perrysburg, Ohio; Megan Carter, a sophomore from Mooresville, Indiana; Andrea Eades, a freshman from Lowell, Indiana; Cort Eicher, a freshman from Edon, Ohio; Alex Guzman, a freshman from South Bend, Indiana; David House, a freshman from Indianapolis, Indiana; Brett Husar, a junior from St. Charles, Illinois; Brooke Jabo, a junior from Valparaiso, Indiana; Joshua Jennings, a senior from Johnstown, Ohio; Ryan Kosek, a senior from South Bend, Indiana; Matthew Lamson, a sophomore from Corunna, Indiana; Mariah Lawrence, a sophomore from Dunkirk, Indiana; Kaitlyn Lee, a freshman from San Diego, California; Ty Logan, a sophomore from New Castle, Indiana; Chloe Lounds, a senior from Waterloo, Indiana; Brynn Molter, a sophomore from Pleasant Lake, Indiana; Jayda Perisho-Vickery, a sophomore from Huntington, Indiana; Kendra Perkins, a junior from Kokomo, Indiana; Chloe Rahn, a junior from Danville, Indiana; Logan Rose, a freshman from Port Huron, Michigan; Frankie Sarvis, a freshman from Laporte, Indiana; Ramsay Snyder, a sophomore from Indianapolis, Indiana; Mallory Timbrook, a freshman from Sherwood, Ohio; Daniel Tsuleff, a freshman from Fort Wayne, Indiana; Kaytelyn Vanet, a freshman from Mooresville, Indiana; Jenna Wilson, a sophomore from Richmond, Indiana; and Peyton Wilson, a sophomore from LaFontaine, Indiana.

The theme for the Chamber Orchestra portion of the program is “The World of Harry Potter.” Selections featured include:

  • “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them” by James Newton Howard;
  • “Harry Potter and The Goblet of Fire” by Patrick Doyle;
  • “Farewell Aragog” from Harry Potter and The Half-Blood Prince by Nicholas Hooper, conducted by Kayli Savage; and
  • “Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban” by John Williams.

The Chamber Orchestra, under the direction of Mark Kays, director of music at Trine, includes community members along with Trine students. Performers will include:

Flute: Kenny McClung, Aimee Simons, Katie Smith and Dee Wolf.

Clarinet: Jayden Hensley, a freshman from Wabash, Indiana; Isaac Wyatt and Melissa Hardwick.

Oboe: Christian Gaston, a senior from Wabash, Indiana; Matthew Westjohn, a senior from Fountain City, Indiana; and Katherine Wettstein, a senior from Wheeler, Indiana.

French Horn: Nicholas Biegel, a freshman from Hanna, Indiana; Stephen Kays; and Alexis Koshenina, a freshman from Remington, Indiana.

Trumpet: Allie Curdes, a sophomore from Roanoke, Indiana; Kayli Savage; and Michael Swango, a freshman from Wabash, Indiana.

Trombone: Sam Corber, Wayne Mow, Jackson Sharp and Keagan Webber.

Percussion: Alex Jasper, a junior from Niles, Michigan; and Isaac Porte, a sophomore from DeMotte, Indiana.

Violin: Kayleah Anderson, a freshman from Hillsdale, Michigan; Seth Cole, a senior from Davison, Michigan; Anita Derkes; Kirsten Godfrey, a senior from Fort Wayne, Indiana; Brenda Maurer; Shaelynn Pettibone, a junior from Fort Wayne, Indiana; Nadina Prince; Jonathan Rupp; and Jaimie Williams, a freshman from West Bloomfield, Michigan.

Viola: Tom Adamson; Ahdrin Bordner, a freshman from Delaware, Ohio; Timothy Mayer, a sophomore from Endicott, New York; and Brandon Villanueva, a senior from St. Charles, Illinois.

Cello: Evan Buck, a sophomore from Indianapolis, Indiana; Matt Nicely; Rebecca Rupp; Richard Rupp; and Monica Wells.