Franzen named assistant vice president of accreditation at Trine

Sarah FranzenSarah Franzen, Ph.D., has been named assistant vice president of accreditation at Trine University.

“Dr. Franzen brings expertise, attention to detail, and the highest quality of work to this position,” said John Shannon, Ph.D., vice president for academic affairs. “Her guidance, probing analysis and insights have already made a positive impact on our recent accreditation endeavors.”

In her new role, Franzen’s responsibilities will include: evaluating and making recommendations on the university’s progress in its long-range plan; designing, developing and implementing strategies to assess and improve the quality and effectiveness of all areas of the university; ensuring the university is in compliance with state, federal and accreditation standards; coordinating university-wide surveys and disseminating results; directing accreditation processes; and serving as the university’s liaison to the Higher Learning Commission.

“This is a very exciting time of growth for the university,” said Franzen. “For me, personally, it is gratifying to support my academic colleagues in sustaining successful programs and navigating the accreditation processes for new ones. Most of all, though, I am incredibly grateful to Dr. Jean Deller for her mentorship as I began to learn the role, and for Tracey Floto, who, as the director of assessment, is instrumental in everything we do.”

Franzen holds a Doctor of Literature and Criticism degree from Indiana University of Pennsylvania, as well as master’s and bachelor’s degrees from Indiana University. She joined Trine University in 2009 as an instructor in the Department of Humanities and Communication, later becoming an assistant professor. Earlier this year, she was named assistant dean of accreditation for the university.

As a faculty member, Franzen has twice been recognized with the Robert Ewing and Gail Stewart Smith Excellence in Teaching Award, as well as the 2017 Trine University Faculty Research Award and the 2018 Barrenbrugge Award for Faculty Excellence. She also was honored with the Outstanding Dissertation Award in Literature and Criticism by Indiana University of Pennsylvania in 2017.