Angola FUMC groups joining Trine concert

The choir and hand bell choir from the Angola First United Methodist Church and the Trine University Choir will join the Trine University Chamber Orchestra during a free concert beginning at 3 p.m. Sunday, April 22, in Ryan Concert Hall of T. Furth Center for Performing Arts.

The concert is open to the public.

The Chamber Orchestra, directed by Prof. Mark Kays, chair of Trine’s Department of Music, will present four selections before concluding with “Anthems of Love” by Susan Boersma and Dan Forrest, which will feature the guest performers.

The Trine University Choir is under the direction of Geoff North, D. Mus. The Angola First United Methodist Church Choir is directed by Jeri Mow, and the Hand Bell Choir is directed by Denille Conklin.

The orchestra will open with “Erin Isle Sketches” by Elliot Del Borgo, followed by “Prelude ‘49th Parallel’ ” by Ralph Vaughn Williams, “Enigma Variation IX. Nimrod” by Edward Elgar and “Over the Hills and Far Away” by Percy Aldridge Grainger.

The Trine University Chamber Orchestra is made up of Trine students as well as members of the community. Trine student members include: Evan Buck, a sophomore majoring in chemical engineering, cello; Seth Cole, a junior majoring in mechanical engineering, violin; Christian Gaston, a senior majoring in management, oboe; Kirsten Godfrey, a junior majoring in biochemistry, violin; Travis Haynes, a senior majoring in mechanical engineering, trombone; Alex Jasper, a freshman majoring in software engineering, percussion; Shaelynn Pettibone, a freshman majoring in English education, violin; Isaac Porte, a freshman majoring in mechanical engineering, percussion; Aaron Solesky, a freshman majoring in forensic science, cello; Brandon Villanueva, a junior majoring in chemical engineering, viola; Sarah Westman, a senior majoring in electrical engineering, trombone; and Benjamin Wildman, a senior majoring in chemistry, tuba.

Community members include: Breda Maurer, Jonathan Rupp, Nadina Prince and Susan Smith, violin; Andy Wright, viola; Julia DeBelly, Rebecca Rupp, Richard Rupp and Monica Wells, cello; Aimee Simons, Katie Smith, Erin Thomas, Dee Wolf and Kenny McClung, flute; Jane Papsdorf, oboe; Melissa Hardwick, Holly Leininger, Natileigh Mann and Isaac Wyatt, clarinet; Stephen Kays, French horn; Kayli Savage and Wayne Mow, trumpet; and Sam Corber, trombone.

For more information, contact Prof. Kays at (260) 665-8096.