Advisory committee for Franks School of Education meets

About 20 area educators who make up the new Stakeholder Advisory Committee for Trine University’s Franks School of Education convened on campus April 3 for the group’s first meeting.

The committee was created to help guide the school's programs, initiatives and design. It will meet once each semester.

"Creating a Franks School of Education Stakeholder Advisory Committee is an important and exciting step for Trine University,” said Anthony Kline, Ph.D., dean of the Franks School of Education. “This committee, made up of some of the best and brightest educators in our region, will serve two important goals. They will help us continually re-evaluate our programs to position our teacher candidates to be prepared for tomorrow's classroom. In addition, these meetings will strengthen our already positive relationships with stakeholders."

Ann Rice, principal at Angola Middle School, said she was honored to be asked to serve on the committee.

“Angola Middle School has welcomed Tri-State/Trine education students for many years,” she said. “There is no better way to gain experience and knowledge than by immersing college students in a school setting. Our teachers have been gracious hosts and look forward to the continued partnership with the Franks School of Education.”

Committee members are:

  • Mark Sherbondy, principal, Fremont High School
  • Kelsey Pierce, science teacher, DeKalb High School
  • Matthew Toth, principal, DeKalb High School
  • Austin Couch, principal, Northwood Middle School
  • Ann Rice, principal, Angola Middle School
  • Barb Yoder, fourth-grade teacher, Ryan Park Elementary School
  • Amy Heavin, principal, Ryan Park Elementary School
  • Molly Floyd, principal, Pleasant Lake Elementary School
  • Megan Tolin, director of eLearning initiatives, Indiana University Purdue University at Indianapolis
  • Lance Yoder, technology integration coordinator, Metropolitan School District of Steuben County
  • Tom Sanborn, retired middle school principal
  • Richard Knapp, retired middle school principal
  • Janet Knapp, retired special education director
  • Karyn Tomkinson, Ed.D., curriculum coordinator of 6-12 language arts/world languages, Fort Wayne Community Schools
  • Todd Cummings, Ph.D., human resources, Fort Wayne Community Schools
  • Lindsay Omlor, executive director of charter schools, Trine University
  • Anthony Kline, Ph.D., dean, Franks School of Education
  • Kathy Pollock, assistant professor, Franks School of Education
  • Ashley Overton, Ph.D., assistant professor, Franks School of Education
  • Alison Todd, assistant professor, Franks School of Education
  • Rene Finn, elementary education student representative
  • Stevie Rosales, secondary education student representative
  • Mechelle Snyder-Bruns, administrative assistant, Franks School of Education.