Trine inducts 13 into Order of the Engineer

Thirteen graduating seniors in Trine University’s Allen School of Engineering & Technology were inducted into the Order of the Engineer during a recent ceremony.

The following students participated in the Dec. 12 ring ceremony in Fawick Hall:

  • Majed Aldawish, civil engineering, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
  • Naif Alshahrani, electrical engineering, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
  • Sean Rourke Carroll, mechanical engineering, Jackson, Michigan
  • Andrew Hagar, mechanical engineering, Millersburg, Indiana
  • Bryce Hina, electrical engineering, Zanesville, Ohio
  • John LaBounty, civil engineering, Avon, Indiana
  • Tanner Neeley, electrical engineering, Mentone, Indiana
  • Collin Northcutt, civil engineering, Lebanon, Indiana
  • Chelsea Oakley, civil engineering, Auburn, Indiana
  • Mason Pelphrey, mechanical engineering, Portsmouth, Ohio
  • Robert Santos, civil engineering, El Paso, Texas
  • Zachary Shepard, mechanical engineering, Angola, Indiana
  • Donald Shockley, mechanical engineering, Delphi, Indiana

The ring ceremony is the public induction of candidates into the Order of the Engineer, a fellowship of engineers who are trained in science and technology and dedicated to the practice, teaching or administration of their profession.

During the ceremony, engineering students are invited to accept the Obligation of the Engineer and a stainless steel ring is placed on the smallest finger of the working hand. The obligation is a formal statement of an engineer’s responsibilities to the public and to the profession. Both the order and the obligation serve to stimulate public recognition by engineers of two basic principles: that the primary purpose of the engineering profession is the protection of the public health, safety and welfare; and that all members of the engineering profession share a common bond.

Trine University conducted its first ring ceremony in November 1978.

Photo: From left, John LaBounty, Collin Northcutt, Robert Santos, Andrew Hagar, Zachary Shepard, Sean Rourke Carroll, Tanner Neeley, Bryce Hina, Donald Shockley, Mason Pelphrey, Chelsea Oakley, Naif Alshahrani and Majed Aldawish.